Back to home page

Dutch Politics D66 Personal

Lousewies van der Laan elected to Dutch Parliament!

   Wed 29/01/2003

Thursday 30 January, Lousewies van der Laan will be sworn in as member of the Second Chamber of the Dutch Parliament. She was elected with more than 58,000 preferential votes, making her the largest vote earner in proportion to the party seats obtained (leaving aside the heads of the list). In accordance with the rules of her party, Democrats 66, she will resign from the European Parliament. Bob van den Bos will take over as delegation leader in Brussels and will be joined by Johanna Boogerd (the current nr. 3). In the Hague, Lousewies van der Laan was elected vice-president of the D66 parliamentary group and will be spokeswoman on education and asylum .